Meeting Roster

National Human Genome Research Institute

National Institutes of Health
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services




Defining Research Needs and Assessing Implications for Research Following the Release of the ACMG Recommendations for Incidental Findings in Clinical Genome Sequencing

February 18-19, 2014
NIH Intramural Sequencing Center. Rockville, Md.

Roster of Participants

Ronit Abramson
Scientific Program Analyst
Division of Policy, Communications, and Education
National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
Phone: 301-496-1132
Email: ronit.abramson@nih.gov  
Scott Kim, M.D., Ph.D.
Senior Investigator
Department of Bioethics
National Institutes of Health
Phone: 301-435-8706
Email: scott.kim@nih.gov
Alice Bailey
Scientific Program Analyst
Division of Policy, Communications, and Education
National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
Phone:  301-443-1847
Email: baileyali@mail.nih.gov
Katie Lewis, M.S., C.G.C.
Genetic Counselor and Protocol Coordinator
ClinSeq® Project
National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
Phone: 301-594-3063
Email: katie.lewis2@nih.go
Benjamin Berkman, J.D., M.P.H.
Deputy Director of the Bioethics Core
Department of Bioethics
National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
Phone: 301-496-1531
Email: berkmanbe@mail.nih.gov  
Nicole Lockhart, Ph.D.
Program Director
Ethical, Legal and Social Implications Research
Division of Genomics and Society
National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
Phone: 301-435-5697
Email: lockhani@mail.nih.gov
Barbara A. Bernhardt, M.S., C.G.C.
Clinical Professor of Medicine
Genetic Counselor
Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania
Phone: 215-614-0287
Email: barbara.bernhardt@uphs.upenn.edu
Elaine Lyon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Pathology
Division Medical Director, Genetics
ARUP Laboratories, The University of Utah
Phone: 801-583-2787
Email: lyone@aruplab.com
Laura M. Beskow, M.P.H., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Duke Clinical Research Institute
Phone: 919-668-2293
Email: laura.beskow@duke.edu
Teri Manolio, M.D., Ph.D.
Director
Division of Genomic Medicine
National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
Phone: 301-402-2915
Email: manolio@nih.gov
Leslie G. Biesecker, M.D.
Chief & Senior Investigator
Genetic Disease Research Branch
National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
Phone: 301-402-2041
E-mail: lesb@mail.nih.gov
Jean McEwen J.D., Ph.D.
Program Director
Ethical, Legal and Social Implications Research
Division of Genomics and Society, NHGRI, NIH
Phone: 301-402-4997
Email: mcewenj@mail.nih.gov
Vence Bonham, Jr., J.D.
Senior Advisor to the NHGRI Director on Genomics and Health Disparities
Office of the Director
Chief, Education and Community Involvement Branch
Phone: 301-594-3973
Email: bonhamv@mail.nih.gov
Joseph D. McInerney, M.A., M.S.
Executive Vice President
American Society of Human Genetics
Phone: 301-634-7307
Email: jmcinerney@ashg.org
Jeffrey R. Botkin, M.D., M.P.H.,
Associate Vice President for Research Integrity
Human Genome Center
University of Utah School of Medicine
Phone: 801-581-7170
E-mail: jeffrey.botkin@hsc.utah.edu
Robert Nussbaum, M.D.
Professor, Department of Medicine
Chief, Division of Medical Genetics
University of California San Francisco
Phone: 415-476-3200
Email: nussbaumr@humgen.ucsf.edu
Lawrence Brody, Ph.D.
Director
Division of Genomics & Society
National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
Phone: 301-496-7824
Email: lbrody@mail.nih.gov
Kelly E Ormond, M.S., C.G.C., L.G.C.
Associate Professor, Department of Genetics
Stanford University
Phone: 650-736-9847
Email: kormond@stanford.edu
Lisa Brooks, Ph.D.
Program Director, Genetic Variation Program
Division of Genomic Sciences
National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
Phone: 301-435-5544
Email: brooksl@exchange.nih.gov
P. Pearl O'Rourke, M.D.
Director, Human Research Affairs and ESCRO
Partners Healthcare Center
Phone: 617-424-4152
Email: POROURKE@PARTNERS.ORG
R. Nick Bryan, M.D., Ph.D.
Emeritus Professor of Radiology
Department of Radiology
Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania Health System
Phone: 215-662-3660
Email: nick.bryan@uphs.upenn.edu
Dina N. Paltoo, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Director, Genetics, Health, and Society Program
Office of Clinical Research and Bioethics Policy
Office of Science Policy, Office of the Director, NIH
Phone: 301-496-9838
Email: dp249p@nih.gov
Morgan Butrick, M.S., CGC
Certified Genetic Counselor
Laboratory of Immunology
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, NIH
Phone: 301-435-6691
Email: morgan.butrick@nih.gov
Heidi L. Rehm, Ph.D., F.A.C.M.G.
Associate Professor of Pathology
BWH and Harvard Medical School
Director, Laboratory for Molecular Medicine
Partners Healthcare Center
Phone: 617-768-8291
Email: hrehm@partners.org
Wendy Chung, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
Columbia University, Weill Medical College
Phone: (212) 851-5313
Email: wkc15@columbia.edu
Laura Lyman Rodriguez, Ph.D.
Director
Division of Policy, Communication, and Education
National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
Phone: 301-594-7185
Email: rodrigla@mail.nih.gov
James P. Evans, M.D., Ph.D.
Bryson Distinguished Professor of Genetics & Medicine
Editor-in-Chief; Genetics in Medicine
Department of Genetics
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Phone: (919) 966-2007
Email: jpevans@med.unc.edu
Karen Rothenberg, J.D., M.P.A.
Senior Advisor to Director on Genomics and Society
National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
Office of the Director
Phone: 301-318-2674
Email: karenrh@mail.nih.gov
Jeremy Garrett, Ph.D.
Research Associate in Bioethics
Assistant Professor of Pediatrics & Adjunct Assistant Professor of Philosophy
Children's Mercy Bioethics Center
Phone: 816-701-5282
Email: jgarrett@cmh.edu
Kate Saylor, M.S.
Health Policy Analyst
Division of Policy, Communications, and Education
National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
Phone: 301-594-3516
Email: saylork@mail.nih.gov
Christine Grady, M.S.N., Ph.D.
Chief
Department of Bioethics
Phone: 301-496-2429
Email: cgrady@.nih.gov
Cary Scheiderer
Health Science Policy Analyst
Office of Science Policy, NIH
Phone: 301-594-7740
Email: cary.scheiderer@nih.gov
Robert C. Green, M.D., M.P.H.
Associate Professor of Medicine
Division of Genetics, Brigham and Women's Hospital and Harvard Medical School
Associate Director for Research, Partners HealthCare Center for Personalized Genetic Medicine
Phone: 617-264-5834
Email: rcgreen@genetics.med.harvard.edu
Derek T. Scholes, Ph.D.
Chief, Policy and Program Analysis Branch
Division of Policy, Communication, and Education
National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
Phone: 301-435-1747
Email: derek.scholes@nih.gov
Eric D. Green, M.D., Ph.D.
Director
National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
Phone: 301-496-0844
Email: egreen@mail.nih.gov 
Jonathan Sellors
Legal Counsel and Company Secretary
UK Biobank
Partner, Finers Stephens Innocent LLP
Phone: +44 (0)20 7344 5513 (international)
Email: jonathan.sellors@hkfsi.com
Gail Henderson, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
Department of Social Medicine
UNC School of Medicine
Phone: 919-843-8268
Email: gail_henderson@med.unc.edu
Nicolle K. Strand, JD, M.Bioethics
Research Analyst
Presidential Commission for the Study of Bioethical Issues
Phone: 202-233-3984
Email: Nicolle.Strand@bioethics.gov 
Gail Herman, M.D., Ph.D.
President, American College of Medical Genetics
Physician and Principal Investigator
Center for Molecular and Human Genetics
The Research Institute at Nationwide Children's Hospital
Phone: 614-355-3483
Email: Gail.Herman@nationwidechildrens.org
Michael S. Watson, M.S., Ph.D.
Executive Director
American College of Medical Genetics and Genomics
Phone: 301-718-9603
Email: mwatson@acmg.net
Lucia Hindorff, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Epidemiologist
Division of Genomic Medicine
National Human Genome Research Institute, NIH
Phone: 301-402-5759
Email: hinforffl@mail.nih.gov
 Ran Zhang, Ph.D.
Program Analyst
Extramural Research Program
National Inst. of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, NIH
Email: zhangr@mail.nih.gov
 
Sara Hull, Ph.D.
Director of the Bioethics Core
Department of Bioethics
National Institutes of Health
Phone: 301-435-8712
Email: shull@mail.nih.gov

Top of page

Last Updated: March 27, 2014