Intramural Training Office
Get Email Updates
Sign up for all the latest from NHGRI

National Human Genome Research Institute Intramural Research Award


Every year, the National Human Genome Research Institute honors outstanding trainees in the Division of Intramural Research with the NHGRI Intramural Research Award. The award distinguishes meritorious research accomplishments for a single, notable research achievement, or a larger body of work of exemplary quality and significance.

Awards are given in recognition of the full spectrum of research conducted within the NHGRI Intramural Research Program, including basic, clinical, and behavioral/social science research. To date, sixteen trainees have received the award, many of whom continue to make valuable contributions in the area of genomics and related fields.

 2014 was an exceptional year, in that six Intramural Research Awards were granted, the highest number in a single year. The well-deserving recipients were announced at the NHGRI Scientific Symposium.

The 2014 awards were presented to:

Elma Aflaki, Ph.D. (top left)
Fasil Ayele, Ph.D. (top right)
Cheryl Cropp, Ph.D. (middle left)
Matthew LaFave, Ph.D. (middle right)
Matthieu Le Gallo, Ph.D. (bottom left)
Gaurav Varshney, Ph.D. (bottom right)

Past Award Recipients

Melissa Harris, Ph.D.
Julia Oh, Ph.D.
Stephen Parker, Ph.D.
Christy Schnitzler, Ph.D.


Jennifer Fox, Ph.D.
Bo Gao, Ph.D.
Evan Snitkin, Ph.D. 


Todd Pricket, Ph.D.
Debra Silver, Ph.D.
Benjamin Solomon, M.D.


Jennifer Cannons, Ph.D.
Bo Johanneson, Ph.D. 


Enriko Klootwijk, Ph.D.
Kristina Strong, Ph.D. 


Soma Banerjee, Ph.D.
Heidi Parker, Ph.D.

For more information contact:
Faith Harrow, Ph.D.
Training Program Coordinator
Intramural Training Office
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: (301) 451-3645
Fax:(301) 480-3897

Top of page

Last Updated: May 18, 2015