Skip to main content

National Human Genome Research Institute Intramural Research Award

Every year, the National Human Genome Research Institute recognizes outstanding trainees in the Division of Intramural Research by granting the NHGRI Intramural Research Award. The award distinguishes meritorious research accomplishments for a single, notable research achievement or a larger body of work of exemplary quality and significance.

Awards are given in recognition of the full spectrum of research conducted within the NHGRI Intramural Research Program, including basic, clinical, and social behavioral science research. To date, thirty trainees have received the award, many who continue to make valuable contributions in the area of genomics and related fields.

In 2016, six Intramural Research Awards were granted. The well-deserving recipients were announced at the annual NHGRI Symposium.

2016 Award Recipients

Intramural Research Awardees

Front Row (left to right): Amy Bentley, Ph.D., Senta Kapnick, Ph.D., Allison Byrd, Ph.D.  Back Row: Brian Davis, Ph.D., Gustavo Sudre, Ph.D.
Inset: Emily Holzinger, Ph.D.


Past Award Recipients

Brennan Decker
Minnky Lee, Ph.D.
Temesgen Fufa, Ph.D.
Alberto Rissone, Ph.D.

Elma Aflaki, Ph.D.
Fasil Ayele, Ph.D.
Cheryl Cropp, Ph.D.
Matthew LaFave, Ph.D.
Matthieu Le Gallo, Ph.D.
Gaurav Varshney, Ph.D.


Melissa Harris, Ph.D.
Julia Oh, Ph.D.
Stephen Parker, Ph.D.
Christy Schnitzler, Ph.D.


Elizabeth Grice, Ph.D.
Kate Hyde, Ph.D.
Erica Kwon, Ph.D.
Jamie Teer, Ph.D.


Todd Pricket, Ph.D.
Debra Silver, Ph.D.
Benjamin Solomon, M.D.


Jennifer Cannons, Ph.D.
Bo Johanneson, Ph.D.


Soma Banerjee, Ph.D.
Heidi Parker, Ph.D.



For more information contact:

Faith Harrow, Ph.D.
Training Program Coordinator
Intramural Training Office
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: (301) 451-3645
Fax:(301) 480-3897


Last Updated: October 30, 2017