NIH

Genomic Sequencing Program Awards Telebriefing Resources

DNA double helix with world mapThe National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) is conducting a news telebriefing on January 14, 2016, to announce the funding of a set of genome sequencing centers whose research will focus on understanding the genomic bases of common and rare human diseases.  NHGRI, part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), launched the Centers for Common Disease Genomics (CCDG), which will use genome sequencing to explore the genomic contributions to common diseases.

NHGRI also renewed support for a complementary program, the Centers for Mendelian Genomics (CMG), which will continue investigating the genomic underpinnings of rare, typically inherited diseases. Additionally, NHGRI will fund a new Coordinating Center to facilitate research collaborations and contibute to data analysis and program outreach.

The National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI) will contribute to both the CCDG and CMG programs, and the National Eye Institute (NEI) will provide support to the CMG program. Both institutes are also part of NIH.

Press Materials

From NHGRI
Related Press Releases

From Yale: $12 million grant extends funding for Center for Mendelian Genomics
From the University of Washington in St. Louis: $60 million to fund study of genetics underlying common diseases
From the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard: Broad Institute awarded grants to propel studies of common, rare diseases
From Baylor College of Medicine: National Human Genome Research Institute funds centers for common and rare diseases at Baylor College of Medicine
From the New York Genome Center: The New York Genome Center Awarded $40 Million from the NIH to Use Genomic Sequencing to Explore Common DiseasePDF file
 


Funding


Funded Centers and Grantees

Centers for Common Disease Genomics
Centers for Mendelian Genomics
  • Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, Cambridge, Massachusetts
    Principal Investigators:
    Daniel MacArthur, Ph.D.; Heidi Rehm, Ph.D.
     
  • Yale University, New Haven
    Principal Investigators:
    Richard Lifton, M.D., Ph.D.; Murat Gunel, M.D.; Shrikant Mane, Ph.D.; Mark Gerstein, Ph.D. 
     
  • University of Washington, Seattle
    Principal Investigators:
    Deborah Nickerson, Ph.D. and Michael Bamshad;Suzanne Leal (Baylor College of Medicine)
     
  • Baylor College of Medicine, Houston and Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore
    Principal Investigators: David Valle, M.D (Johns Hopkins University); James Lupski, Ph.D. (Baylor College of Medicine)

Public Information Officers

Centers for Common Disease Genomics

The Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard
Paul Goldsmith, Media Relations Specialist
E-mail: paulg@broadinstitute.org
Phone: 617-714-8600

Veronica Meade-Kelly
E-mail: veronica@broadinstitute.org

Lee McGuire
E-mail: lmcguire@broadinstitute.org
Phone: 617-714-8600

Washington University in St. Louis
Caroline Arbanas
E-mail: arbanasc@wustl.edu
Phone: 314-286-0109

Kelly V. Foyil
E-mail: kfoyil@genome.wustl.edu
Phone: 314-286-1075

Baylor College of Medicine
Dipali Pathak
Senior Communications Specialist
E-mail: vpathak@bcm.edu
Phone: 713-798-4710

New York Genome Center
Sara Ghazaii
E-mail: sghazaii@nygenome.org
Phone: 646-977-7070

Centers for Mendelian Genomics

The Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard
Veronica Meade-Kelly
E-mail: veronica@broadinstitute.org

Lee McGuire
E-mail: lmcguire@broadinstitute.org
Phone: 617-714-8600

Baylor College of Medicine-Johns Hopkins
Glenna Vickers
E-mail: picton@bcm.edu
Phone: 713-798-7973

Shawna Williams
E-mail: Shawna@jmhi.edu
Phone: 410-955-8236

Yale University
Bill Hathaway
E-mail: William.hathaway@yale.edu
Phone: 203-432-1322

University of Washington
Leila Gray
E-mail: leilag@uw.edu
Phone: 206-543-3620

Coordinating Center

Rutgers University
Robin Lally
E-mail: robin.lally@rutgers.edu
Phone: 848-932-0557

Edward F. Tate III
Director of Communications,
Office of Research and Economic Development, Rutgers University 
848.445.3153 (office) 267.934.3475 (mobile)
edward.tate@rutgers.edu

National Institutes of Health

National Institutes of Health
Emma Wojtowicz
E-mail: emma.wojtowicz@nih.gov
Phone: 301-496-5787

National Human Genome Research Institute
Steve Benowitz
E-mail: steven.benowitz@nih.gov
Phone: 301-402-0911

National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
E-mail: nhlbi_news@nhlbi.nih.gov
Phone: 301-496-4236

National Eye Institute
Joe Balintfy
E-mail: Joe.Balintfy@nih.gov
Phone: 301-496-5248

To view the PDF document(s) on this page, you will need Adobe Reader. Download Adobe Reader

Top of page

Last Updated: February 9, 2016