NACHGR Roster

National Human Genome Research Institute

National Institutes of Health
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services


Roster of the National Advisory Council For Human Genome Research

Chairperson

Eric D. Green, M.D., Ph.D.
Director
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
31 Center Drive
Building 31, Room 4B09
Bethesda, MD 20892-2152
Phone: (301) 496-0844
Fax: (301) 402-0837
E-mail: egreen@nhgri.nih.gov

Members

(Term expiration date in parentheses)

Carlos D. Bustamante, Ph.D. (2015)
Professor
Stanford University School of Medicine
300 Pasteur Drive Lane Building Room L-301
Stanford, CA 94305-5120
Phone: (607) 280-3233
Fax: (650) 723-3667
E-mail: cdbustam@standford.edu

James P. Evans, M.D., Ph.D. (2015)
Bryson Distinguished Professor of Genetics & Medicine
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
CB #7264, Department of Genetics
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7264
Phone: (919) 966-2007
E-mail: jpevans@med.unc.edu

Howard J. Jacob, Ph.D. (2016)
Director, Human and Molecular Genetics Center
Warren P. Knowles Chair of Genetics
Professor, Department of Physiology
Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
Phone: (414) 955-4887
Fax: (414) 456-6516
E-mail: Jacob@mcw.edu

Amy L. McGuire, JD, Ph.D. (2015)
Leon Jaworski Professor of Biomedical Ethics
Director, Center for Medical Ethics & Health Policy
Baylor College of Medicine
One Baylor Plaza
Suite 31D
Houston, Texas 77030
Phone: (713) 798-2029
Fax: (713) 798-5678
E-mail: amcguire@bcm.edu

Howard L. McLeod, PharmD. (2014)
Medical Director
Moffitt Cancer Center
12902 Magnolia Drive, MRC 207
Tampa, FL 33612
E-mail: howard.mcleod@moffitt.org

Deirdre R. Meldrum, Ph.D. (2014)
Senior Scientist
Director, Center for Biosignatures Discovery Automation
Professor of Electrical Engineering
Arizona State University
P.O. Box 877101
1001 S. McAllister Avenue
Tempe, AZ 85287-7101
Phone: (480) 522-4120
Fax: (480) 480 965-2337
E-mail: deirdre.meldrum@asu.edu

Jill P. Mesirov, Ph.D. (2014)
Director, Computational Biology & Bioinformatics
Broad Institute
7 Cambridge Center
Cambridge, MA 02142
Phone: (617) 714-7070
Fax: (617) 714-8991
E-mail: mesirov@broad.mit.edu

Anthony P. Monaco, M.D., Ph.D. (2015)
President
Tufts University
Ballou Hall 2nd floor
Medford, MA 02155
Phone: (617) 627-3300
Fax: (617) 627-3555
E-mail: anthony.monaco@tufts.edu

Robert Nussbaum, M.D. (2016)
Professor of Medicine, Chief of Division of Genomic Medicine
University of California, San Francisco
513 Parnassus Ave. HSE901E, Box 0794, UCSF
San Francisco, CA 94143
Phone: (415) 476-3200
Fax (415) 502-0720
E-mail: Robert.nussbaum@ucsf.edu

Lucila Ohno-Machado, M.D., Ph. D. (2016)
Professor and Division Chief
Division of Biomedical Informatics
University of California, San Diego
10100 Hopkins Drive
2nd Floor East
La Jolla, CA  92093-0505
Phone: (858) 822-4931
E-mail: lohnomachado@ucsd.edu

Arti Rai, JD (2016)
Elvin R. Latty Professor
Duke Institute for Genome Sciences & Policy
Duke Law School
210 Science Drive
Durham, NC 27705
Phone: (919) 613-7276
Fax: (919) 613-7231
E-mail: rai@law.duke.edu

Ad Hoc

Eric A. Boerwinkle, Ph.D.
Professor
Human Genetics Center
The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston
P. O. Box 20334
Houston, Texas 77225-0334
Phone: (713) 500-9816
Fax: (713) 500-0900
E-mail: eric.boerwinkle@uth.tmc.edu

Lon R. Cardon, Ph.D.
SVP Alternative Discovery and Development
GlaxoSmithKline
709 Swedeland Road
King of Prussia, PA 19406
Phone: (610) 270-6866
Fax: (610) 270-5880
E-mail: lon.r.cardon@gsk.com

Joseph Ecker, Ph.D.
Professor
Howard Hughes Medical Institute-GBMF Investigator
The Salk Institute for Biological Studies
10010 North Torrey Pines Road
La Jolla, CA 92037
Phone: (858) 453-4100 x1752
Fax: (858) 558-6379
E-mail: ecker@salk.edu

Chanita A. Hughes Halbert, Ph.D
Associate Dean for Assessment & Evaluation
Professor, Department of Psychiatry
Medical University of South Carolina
68 President Street, Suite Be103
Charleston, SC 29425
Phone: (843) 876-2421
Fax: (843) 876-2344
E-mail: Hughesha@musc.edu

Martin E. Kreitman, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Ecology & Evolution
University Of Chicago
1101 E. 57th Street
Chicago, Il 60637
Phone: (773) 702-1222
Fax: (773) 702-9740
E-mail: mkre@midway.uchicago.edu

David C. Page, M.D.
Director
Whitehead Institute
Nine Cambridge Center
Suite 461
Cambridge, MA 02142
Phone: (617) 258-5203
Fax: (617) 258-5578
E-mail: dcpage@wi.mit.edu

Executive Secretary

Rudy Pozzatti, Ph.D.
Deputy Director
Division of Extramural Operations
Scientific Review Officer & Co-Chief, Review Branch
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
5635 Fishers Lane, MSC 9305
Bethesda, MD 20892
Tel. 301-402-8739
Fax 301-435-1580
E-mail: pozzattr@exchange.nih.gov

Liaisons

Ellen Giarelli, Ed.D., M.S.N.
International Society of Nurses in Genetics
Associate Professor
Drexel University
College of Nursing and Health Professions
1505 Race Street, Bellet Bldg-526
Philadelphia, PA 19102
E-mail: eg446@drexel.edu

Joe McInerney, M.S, M.A
American Society of Human Genetics
Executive Vice President
9650 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone: (301) 634-7318
Fax: (301) 634-7079
E-mail: jmcinerney@ashg.org

James O'Leary
Genetic Alliance
Chief Innovation Officer
4301 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Suite 404
Washington, DC 20008
Phone: (202) 966-5557 x206
Fax: (202) 966-8553
E-mail: joleary@geneticalliance.org

Rhonda L. Schonberg, M.S.
National Society of Genetic Counselors
Coordinator and Genetic Counselor
Division of Fetal & Transitional Medicine
Children's National Medical Center
111 Michigan Avenue, NW
Washington, DC 20010
Phone: (202) 476-3526
Fax: (202) 476-2390
E-mail: rlschonb@childrensnational.org

Michael S. Watson, M.S., Ph.D.
American College of Medical Genetics
Executive Director
7220 Wisconsin Avenue
Suite 300
Bethesda, MD 20814
Phone: (301) 718-9603
Fax: (301) 718-9604
E-mail: mwatson@acmg.net

Top of page

Last Updated: February 6, 2014