Skip to main content

Genome Statute and Legislation Database Search

Start a New Search  Glossary of Terms

State Citation/ Title Ascending Order
(link to state's page)
Topic Summary
Pennsylvania 2013 State Bills:
opens new window Pennsylvania 2013 HB 1587
Health Insurance Coverage All individual or group health or sickness or accident policies must provide the minimum coverage required for costs associated with a mammogram. Such coverage must include every year for women 40 years of age or older and with any mammogram based on a physician's recommendation for women under 40 years of age. Any mammogram includes ultrasound screening, magnetic resonance imaging or other supplemental screening if a mammogram demonstrates heterogeneous or dense breast tissue based on the Breast Imaging Reporting and Data system established by the American College of Radiology or if a woman is believed to be at increased risk for breast cancer due to family history or prior personal history of breast cancer, positive genetic testing or other indications as deemed medically necessary by a physician. Died.

Last Reviewed: May 25, 2018