ENCODE Workshop Summary

Workshop Participant List

Workshop on the Comprehensive Extraction
of Biological Information from Genomic Sequence

Bethesda, Md.
July 23 - 24, 2002
Michael Ashburner, Ph.D.
Professor of Biology
European Bioinformatics Institute
Wellcome Trust Genome Campus
Hinxton, Cambridge CV2 3EH
United Kingdom
44 1223 494648
ashburner@ebi.ac.uk

Michael R. Brent, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
Computer Science and Genetics
Washington University
Campus Box 1045
1 Brookings Drive
St. Louis, MO 62120
(314) 935-6621
brent@cs.wustl.edu

Mark S. Boguski, M.D., Ph.D.
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Suite D4-100
1 100 Fairview Avenue, North
P.O. Box 19024
Seattle, WA 98109-1024
(206) 667-1912
mboguskiCfhcrc.org

Francis S. Collins, M.D., Ph.D.
Director
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892-2152
(301) 496-0844
(301) 402-0837 FAX
fc23a@nih.gov

Sarah C.R. Elgin, Ph.D.
Professor of Biology
Department of Biology
Washington University in St. Louis
St. Louis, MO 63130
(314) 935-5348
(314) 935-5125 FAX
selgin@biology.wustl.edu

Lynn Frampton
Science Program Analyst
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892-2033
(301) 496-7531
(301) 480-2770 FAX
framptol@mail.nih.gov

Richard A. Gibbs, Ph.D.
Director
Human Genome Sequencing Center
Department of Molecular and Human Genetics
Baylor College of Medicine
Houston, TX 77030
(301) 480-2770
(713) 798-5741 FAX
agibbs@bcm.tmc.edu

Peter Good, Ph.D.
Program Director
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
(301) 435-5796
(301) 480-2770 FAX
goodp@mail.nih.gov

Eric D. Green, M.D., Ph.D.
Chief
Genome Technology Branch
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 402-0201
(301) 402-4735 FAX
egreen@nhgri.nih.gov

Roderic Guigo, Ph.D.
Researcher
Research Group in Biomedical Informatics
Institut Municipal d'Investigacio Medica
Centre de Regulacio Genomica
Dr. Aiguader 80
Barcelona 08003
Spain
+34 93 2257567
+34 93 2213237 FAX
rguigo@imim.es

Mark S. Guyer, Ph.D.
Director of Extramural Research
Assistant Director for Scientific Coordination
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892-2033
(301) 496-7531
(301) 480-2770 FAX
guyerm@mail.nih.gov

Belinda M. Jackson
Program Analyst
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892-2033
(301) 451-8324
(301) 480-2770 FAX
jacksbel@mail.nih.gov

Elke Jordan, Ph.D.
Foundation for the NIH
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 496-0844
(301) 402-0837 FAX
ej 1 Od@nih.gov

Chinnappa D. Kodira, M.S.
Director of Genome Annotation
Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
Whitehead Institute/Massachusetts Institute
of Technology Center for Genome Research
Cambridge, MA 02141
(617) 452-3517
cdkodiraC@genome.wi.mit.edu

Eric S. Lander, Ph.D.
Director
Whitehead Institute/Massachusetts Institute
of Technology Center for Genome Research
Cambridge, MA 02141-2023
(617) 252-1905
(617) 258-0903 FAX
lander@genome.wi.mit.edu

Elliott H. Margulies, Ph.D.
Research Fellow
Genome Technology Branch
National Human Genome Research Institute
Bethesda, MD 20892-8004
(301) 594-9210
(301) 496-0474 FAX
elliott@nhgri.nih.gov

W. Richard McCombie, Ph.D.
Professor
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Cold Spring Harbor, NY 11724
(516) 422-4083
mccombie@cshl.edu

Paul Nisson, Ph.D.
Director of Research and Development
Compugen, Inc.
Rockville, MD 20850
(240) 453-8486
(301) 340-0033 FAX
paul@cgen.com

Eddy Rubin, M.D., Ph.D.
Life Sciences, JGI
Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Berkeley, CA 94720
(510) 486-5072
(510) 486-4229 FAX
emrubin@lbl.gov

Greg Schuler, Ph.D.
National Center for Biotechnology Information
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892-2510
(301) 496-4931
(301) 480-9241 FAX
schuler@ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Lisa Stubbs, Ph.D.
Senior Scientist
Genomics Division
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory/
DOE Joint Genome Institute
Livermore, CA 94596
(925) 422-8473
(925) 422-2099 FAX
stubbs5@llnl.gov

Robert H. Waterston, M.D., Ph.D.
James S. McDonnell Professor
Department of Genetics
Washington University School of Medicine
St. Louis, MO 63108
(314) 286-1803
(314) 286-1810 FAX
bwaterst@watson.wustl.edu

Barbara Wold, Ph.D.
Division of Biology 156-29
California Institute of Technology
Pasadena, CA 91125
(626) 395-4923
(626) 449-0756 FAX
woldb@starbasel.caltech.edu
Andy Baxevanis, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Intramural Research
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892
(301) 496-8570
(301) 480-2634 FAX
andy@nhgri.nih.gov

Ewan Birney
European Molecular Biology Laboratory
Wellcome Trust Genome
Hinxton, Cambridge CB 10 1 SD
United Kingdom
44 1223 494444
44 1223 494468 FAX
birney@ebi.ac.uk

Deanna M. Church, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist
NCBI
8600 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20894
(301) 594-5695
church@ncbi.nlm.nih.gov

Ian Dunham, D.Phil., M.A.
Human Genetics
The Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
Wellcome Trust Genome Campus
Hinxton, Cambridge CBI 14TG
United Kingdom
44 1223 494948
44 1223 494919 FAX
idl@sanger.ac.uk

Adam Felsenfeld, Ph.D.
Program Director, Large-Scale Sequencing
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892-2033
(301) 496-7531 (408) 481-0422 FAX
felsenfa@mail.nih.gov

Kelly A. Frazer, Ph.D.
Director of Genomics Research
Perlegen Sciences, Inc.
Mountain View, CA 94043
(650) 625-4504
(650) 625-4510 FAX
kelly-frazerCperlegen.com

Thomas R. Gingeras, Ph.D.
Vice President for Biological Sciences
Affymetrix
Santa Clara, CA 95051
(408) 731-5069
(301) 480-2770 FAX
tom-gingeras@affymetrix.com

Bettie J. Graham, Ph.D.
Program Director
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892-2033
(301) 496-7531
(301) 480-2770 FAX
bettie_graham@nih.gov

Michael R. Green, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Programs in Gene Function
and Expression and Molecular Medicine
University of Massachusetts Medical School
Worcester, MA 01605
(508) 856-5330
(508) 856-5473 FAX
michael.green@umassmed.edu

Alan E. Guttmacher, M.D.
Deputy Director
Senior Clinical Advisor to the Director
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892-2152
(301) 402-0955
(301) 402-0837 FAX
guttmach@mail.nih.gov

Tim Hubbard, Ph.D.
Head, Human Genome Analysis Informatics
The Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
Wellcome Trust Genome Campus
Hinxton, Cambridge CB 10 1SA
United Kingdom
44 1223 494983
44 1223 494919 FAX
th@sanger.ac.uk

David Jackson, Ph.D.
Director
Exploratory Biology
Athersys, Inc.
Cleveland, OH 44115
(216) 431-9900, ext. 230
(216) 361-9596 FAX
pdjackson@athersys.com

Manolis Kamvysselis, M.E.
Whitehead Institute/Massachusetts Institute
of Technology Center for Genome Research
Boston, MA 02115
(617) 452-2274
(617) 258-0903 FAX
manoli@mit.edu

David Kulp
Vice President, Bioinformatics
Affymetrix
Emeryville, CA 94608
(510) 428-8500
davidkulp@affymetrix.com

Suzanna Lewis
Director of Informatics, BDGP / FlyBase
University of California, Berkeley
Berkeley, CA 94618 (510) 486-7508
(510) 486-6798 FAX
suzi@fruitfly.berkeley.edu

Marco Marra, Ph.D.
Director, Genome Sciences Centre
BC Cancer Research Centre
Vancover, BCV5Z4E6
Canada
(604) 877-6082
(604) 877-6085 FAX
mmarra@watson.wustl.edu

Webb Miller, Ph.D.
Department of Biology
Pennsylvania State University
University Park, PA 16802
(814) 865-4551
(814) 865-3176 FAX
webb@bio.cse.psu.edu

Jane L. Peterson, Ph.D.
Program Director
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892-2033
(301) 496-7531
(301) 480-2770 FAX
jane_peterson@nih.gov

Jeffery A. Schloss, Ph.D.
Program Director,
Technology Development Coordination
National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD 20892-2033
(301) 496-7531
(301) 480-2770 FAX
jeff_schloss@nih.gov

Gary D. Stormo, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Genetics
Washington University Medical School
St. Louis, MO 63110
(314) 747-5534
(314) 362-7855 FAX
stormo@genetics.wustl.edu

Marc Vidal, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Departments of Cancer Biology and Genetics
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA 02115
(617) 632-5018
(617) 632-5739 FAX
marc_vidal@dfci.harvard.edu

Kris Wetterstrand
Program Analyst
National Human Genome Research Institute
Bethesda, MD 20892-2033
(301) 435-5543
(301) 480-2770 FAX
wettersk@mail.nih.gov

Richard A. Young, Ph.D.
Professor
Department of Biology
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA 02142
(617) 258-5218
(617) 258-0376 FAX
young@wi.mit.edu

Top of page

Last Reviewed: March 19, 2012