NHGRI logo

The NHGRI Intramural Research Award distinguishes meritorious research accomplishments for a single, notable research achievement or a larger body of work of exemplary quality and significance.




Every year, NHGRI recognizes outstanding trainees in the Division of Intramural Research by granting the NHGRI Intramural Research Award. Awards are given in recognition of the full spectrum of research conducted within the NHGRI Intramural Research Program, including basic, clinical, and social behavioral science research. To date, thirty trainees have received the award, many who continue to make valuable contributions in the area of genomics and related fields.

Our well-deserving recipients are announced at the annual NHGRI Symposium in front of the entire institute.

Past Award Recipients


Brennan Decker
Minnky Lee, Ph.D.
Temesgen Fufa, Ph.D.
Alberto Rissone, Ph.D.


Elma Aflaki, Ph.D.
Fasil Ayele, Ph.D.
Cheryl Cropp, Ph.D.
Matthew LaFave, Ph.D.
Matthieu Le Gallo, Ph.D.
Gaurav Varshney, Ph.D.


Melissa Harris, Ph.D.
Julia Oh, Ph.D.
Stephen Parker, Ph.D.
Christy Schnitzler, Ph.D.


Elizabeth Grice, Ph.D.
Kate Hyde, Ph.D.
Erica Kwon, Ph.D.
Jamie Teer, Ph.D.


Todd Pricket, Ph.D.
Debra Silver, Ph.D.
Benjamin Solomon, M.D.


Jennifer Cannons, Ph.D.
Bo Johanneson, Ph.D.


Soma Banerjee, Ph.D.
Heidi Parker, Ph.D.

Last updated: October 30, 2017