Skip to main content
NIH

Education and Community Involvement Branch

The Education and Community Involvement Branch (ECIB) acts as a liaison between the NHGRI and community-based organizations, educators, students, healthcare providers and professionals, and the public. ECIB develops education programs and resources in partnership with diverse communities to enhance understanding of genomics and its societal implications. These community-informed programs provide an opportunity for dialogue about the latest advances in genomics.

The branch works to increase genomic literacy, to equitably integrate genomic discoveries into healthcare, and to ensure genomics research benefits all.

Genomic Literacy, Education, and Engagement (GLEE) Initiative: Strategic Visioning Meeting
March 13-14, 2017


NHGRI Webinar Series
An audio series on topics related to genomics, health and society. A program created by the Education and Community Involvement Branch and hosted by the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) at the National Institutes of Health.

Programs:

Chief

Carla L. Easter, Ph.D.
Phone: (301) 594-1364
Fax: (301) 480-3066
E-mail: easterc@mail.nih.gov

Senior Advisor

Jeff Witherly, Ph.D.
Phone: (240) 839-0610
Fax: (301) 480-3066
E-mail: jlw@mail.nih.gov

Community Engagement Specialist

Christina Daulton, M.A.
Phone: (301) 496-1946
Fax: (301) 480-3066
E-mail: christina.daulton@nih.gov

Education Outreach Specialist

Belen Hurle, Ph.D.
Phone: (301) 402-4931
Fax: (301) 480-3066
E-mail: bhurle@nhgri.nih.gov 

Provider Education Specialist Analyst

Donna Messersmith, Ph.D.
Phone: (301) 451-2691
Fax: (301) 480-3066
E-mail: donna.messersmith@nih.gov

ASHG/NHGRI Genetics and Education Fellow

Dyanna Christopher, M.P.H.
2018-2019 ASHG/NHGRI Genetics and Education and Engagement Fellow
E-mail: dyanna.christopher@nih.gov

Program Analyst

Rosann Wise
Phone: (301) 443-2491
Fax: (301) 480-3066
E-mail: wisern@mail.nih.gov

Operations Coordinator

Sherese Teixeira
Phone: (301) 435-6254
Fax: (301) 480-3066
E-mail: sherese.teixeira@nih.gov

Address

National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
31 Center Drive
Building 31, Room 4B39
Bethesda, Maryland 20892-2070
Phone: (301) 402-7229
Fax: (301) 480-3066 

Top of page

Last Updated: October 30, 2018