Skip to main content
NIH

Communications and Public Liaison Branch

The Communications and Public Liaison Branch of the Division of Policy, Communications, and Education at the National Human Genome Research Institute (NHGRI) provides the latest news and background information about NHGRI, the Human Genome Project and NHGRI research. The staff handles media requests, inquiries from the scientific community and questions from the general public. News releases, reports, fact sheets, exhibits, and videos highlighting NHGRI programs and policies are also available.

Chief, Communications and Public Liaison Branch

Sarah Bates, M.S.
Phone: (301) 402-9883
E-mail: sarah.bates@nih.gov

Staff:

Science Writer/Editor
Teresa Carey, M.A.
Phone: (301) 435-6254
E-mail: teresa.carey@nih.gov

Science Writer/Editor
Prabarna Ganguly, Ph.D.
Phone: (301) 594-0954
E-mail: prabarna.ganguly@nih.gov

Web Editor
Mukul Nerurkar
Phone: (301) 451-8326
E-mail: nerurkam@mail.nih.gov

Video Professional
Alvaro Encinas
Phone: (301) 443-4504
E-mail: encinasa@mail.nih.gov

Senior Graphic Artist/Scientific Illustrator
Darryl Leja, M.F.A.
Phone: (301) 594-1125
E-mail: lejad@mail.nih.gov

Graphic Artists
Ernesto del Aguila
Phone: (301) 594-0654
E-mail: ernesto.delaguila@nih.gov

Julia Fekecs
Phone: (301) 451.6847
E-mail: jfekecs@nih.gov

Senior Web Developer
Radwanullah Kakar
Phone: (301) 451-0295
E-mail: radwanullah.kakar@nih.gov

Michael Kleinhanz
Phone: (301) 451-8328
E-mail: michael.kleinhanz@nih.gov

Web Designer and Developer
Zeynep Ozdil
Phone: (301) 451-8327
E-mail: zeynep.ozdil@nih.gov

Historian, NHGRI History of Genomics Program

Christopher Donohue, Ph.D.
Phone: (301) 594-1478
E-mail: Christopher.Donohue@nih.gov

Archivist, NHGRI History of Genomics Program

Jennifer Montooth, M.A.
Phone: (301) 480-5283
E-mail: jennifer.montooth@nih.gov

Zach Utz, M.A.
Phone: (301) 480-9898
E-mail: zach.utz@nih.gov

Communications and Social Media Specialist
Kiara Palmer
Phone: (301) 402-0911
E-mail: kiara.palmer@nih.gov

Program Specialist
Britny Kish
Phone: (301) 594-0632
E-mail: britny.kish@nih.gov

Operations Coordinator
Sherese Teixeira
Phone:  (301) 435-6254 
E-mail: sherese.teixeira@nih.gov

Address:

National Human Genome Research Institute
National Institutes of Health
Building 31, Suite 4B09
31 Center Drive, MSC 2152
Bethesda, MD 20892

Phone: (301) 402-0911
Fax: (301) 402-0837
Email: nhgripressoffice@mail.nih.gov

Last Updated: April 18, 2019

See Also:

Current News Releases

Speeches and Testimony

GenomeTV